New officers elected for Maine Law Student Bar Association

The student body at the University of Maine School of Law recently elected new officers and class representatives for the Student Bar Association (SBA).

The mission of the SBA is to foster a community at Maine Law through educational, professional, and social events. The association is the voice of the student body, and serves as an umbrella organization for the numerous student organizations at the Law School. The SBA manages funding received from student activity fees; oversees the incorporation of new student groups; and helps current organizations to maintain administration and to follow appropriate by-laws.

Kayleigh Cleary“Even in these unprecedented times, the Student Bar Association is committed to supporting our Maine Law community however we can,” said new SBA President Kayleigh Cleary. “I am grateful for the opportunity to work with other student leaders, faculty, staff, and our community members to ensure that we’re providing the events and services that our students need.”

The many student organizations offer speakers, panels, lunches, and a number of other small events throughout the year, while the SBA itself hosts many of the traditional annual events for students, including the Winter Holiday Party, Barrister’s Ball, and the Law School Follies. Because of the pandemic, these events have either been postponed or held virtually this year.

Congratulations to the new SBA!


President: Kayleigh Cleary

Vice President: Brody Haverly-Johndro

Treasurer: Richard Qualey

Secretary: Emily Gorrivan

Communications Director: Leslie Wilson

NLS Representative

  • Howie Pelkey

3L Representatives

  • Paige Eggleston
  • Michael Flaherty
  • Nathan Moore
  • Jacqueline Polvere
  • Nick Stiles

2L Representatives

  • Kelli Musick
  • Grayson Szczepaniak
  • Maxwell Teschke

(A three-way tie for the final two representative positions will result in a run-off election to be held in the Spring.)

1L Representatives

  • Valentina Annunziata
  • Ambrose Dawson
  • Andrés Kenney
  • Damian Ramsdell
  • Gabrielle Schwartz