Another stellar clerkship year for Maine Law graduates

Twelve graduates of the Class of 2019 at the University of Maine School of Law have been selected to clerk for state and federal judges. These coveted positions provide a wealth of experience and are valued stepping stones to subsequent career paths in the legal profession.

Maine Law has an active Clerkship Committee, comprised of faculty members who seek to build meaningful relationships with members of the judiciary, to educate and advise students about opportunities for clerkships, and to assist students throughout the application process. Professor Sara Wolff is the current chair of that committee.

Congratulating our graduates, she said: “We are so proud of the members of the Class of 2019 and their successes in obtaining clerkships, both in courts in Maine and in other parts of the country. The fact that they have been chosen for these coveted positions speaks to their legal skills, judgment, and professionalism. It is a terrific opportunity for these students to gain unparalleled experience and to work in the public interest as they begin their legal careers.”

The following is the current list of graduates and their clerkship placements:

U.S. District Court

  • Becky Dulik (District of Maryland, Hon. Stephanie Gallagher, U.S. Magistrate Judge)
  • John Fogarty (District of Maine, Hon. Lance Walker, for the 2020-2021 term)

Maine Supreme Judicial Court

  • Charlie Boyle (Hon. Joseph Jabar, Associate Justice)
  • Hilary Gove (Hon. Jeffrey Hjelm, Associate Justice)
  • Joe Mavodones (Hon. Thomas Humphrey, Associate Justice)
  • Mac Walton (Hon. Ellen Gorman, Associate Justice)
  • Shea Watson (Hon. Joseph Jabar, Associate Justice)

Maine Superior Court

  • Tyler Costello (sitting in Lewiston/Auburn)
  • Sean Turley (sitting in Portland/York)

Maine District Court

  • Jamie Lynn Bice (sitting in Lewiston/Auburn)

Montana District Court

  • Lauren LeSueur (Hon. Kaydee Snipes Ruiz, District Court Judge for the Twelfth Judicial District)

Nevada District Court

  • Hawah Ahmad (Hon. John Paul Schlegelmilch, District Court Judge for the Third Judicial District Court, Nevada)

*This story was updated in 8/12/19.