Maine Law students win at J. Braxton Craven Memorial Moot Court Competition

2019 Craven Moot Court TeamMaine Law students recently competed in and won the J. Braxton Craven Jr. Memorial Moot Court Competition at the University of North Carolina School of Law. The Maine Law team, comprised of Julia Teitel ’19, Nick Anania ’20, and Jordan Ramharter ’20, finished in first place. They were also awarded the Best Brief and team member Julia Teitel was named the Best Oralist.

The Craven Competition is a prestigious appellate advocacy competition that draws participants and judges from the entire country. This year was the 42nd annual competition, which was named in honor of Judge James Braxton Craven, Jr. who served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

The team was coached by Professor Angie Arey and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Dmitry Bam.

“I’m so proud of this team,” said Professor Arey. “They worked well together to write a strong brief in a short amount of time, and they were committed to improving with each of their many practice oral arguments. Special thanks to Professors Anthony Moffa and Rich Chen, and to Zach Heiden, Legal Director at the ACLU of Maine, for helping us moot this team.”