Schindler and Zillman to share Edward S. Godfrey Professorship

Professor Sarah SchindlerProfessor Sarah Schindler has been appointed as Associate Dean for Research and as Edward S. Godfrey Professor of Law at the University of Maine School of Law.

Schindler joined the Maine Law faculty in 2009 and served as the Class of 1973/Glassman Faculty Research Scholar from 2015-17. She will share the Edward S. Godfrey Professorship with Professor Donald Zillman until his retirement, at which point he will transition to the Edward S. Godfrey Professor of Law Emerius.

Schindler has earned a national reputation for her cutting-edge scholarship in the areas of land use law and urban policy. Her law review articles have been published in the Yale Law Journal, the George Washington Law Review, and many others. For the 2016-17 academic year, Schindler was a Fellow at the Program in Law and Public Affairs (LAPA) at Princeton University. She has presented her work at a number of conferences worldwide, and was the Pace Environmental Law Center’s Distinguished Young Scholar of 2013.

At Maine Law, Schindler teaches property, land use, local government, real estate transactions, and animal law. She received the 2013 Professor of the Year award.

Professor Don ZillmanProfessor Zillman specializes in energy law and military law. He has written over 50 law review articles and been the author/editor on 14 books in those areas. At Maine Law, Zillman has taught property, constitutional law, torts, environmental law, energy law, military law, and legal writing. In his career he served as an Army Judge Advocate officer, Dean of the University of Maine School of Law, and President of the University of Maine at Presque Isle. He is the current President of the Portland Rotary Club.

For two decades, Zillman has been a member of the International Bar Association’s Academic Advisory Group on energy law. Most recently, the group wrote Sharing the Costs and Benefits of Energy and Resource Activity (Barrera-Hernandez, Barton, Godden, Lucas, and Ronne) and The Law of Energy Underground (Zillman, McHarg, Barerra-Hernandez, Bradbrook).