The Justice for Women Lecture Series brings a distinguished speaker to Maine annually to present a public lecture and to contribute to a global conversation about justice for women and girls in the developing world.

The Lecture Series was established in 2011 with the generous support and leadership of Catherine Lee of Lee International.

Save the Date: 2017 Justice for Women Lecture

Zainah AnwarThe 2017 Justice for Women Lecture, featuring Zainah Anwar, will take place Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 7:00 pm at Abromson Community Education Center.

Ms. Anwar is a founding member and former Executive Director of Sisters in Islam, a non-governmental organization working to secure the rights of Muslim women within the framework of Islam. She is currently the Director of Musawah, the Sisters in Islam initiated Global Movement for Equality and Justice in the Muslim Family.

Additional information, including how to register will be available soon.

  • Dr. Lindiwe Sibanda, CEO of FANRPAN (Zimbabwe)
    2016, “Overcoming Food Insecurity – Ideas & Inspirations from Zimbabwe to Maine” [Video]
  • Ruchira Gupta, Founder & President of Apne Aap Women Worldwide (India)
    2015, “Ending Sex Trafficking by Putting the Last Girl First” [Video]
  • Dr. Sima Samar, Chair of the Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission (Afghanistan)
    2014, “Women’s Rights in Afghanistan” [Video]
  • Hon. Albie Sachs, former activist and lawyer (South Africa)
    2013, “50 Years with Nelson Mandela: From Law Breaking to Law Making” (special lecturer)
  • Leymah Gbowee, 2011 Nobel Peace Laureate, Author, and Liberian Peace Activist (Liberia)
    2013, “The Rule of Law and Justice for Victims of Sexual Violence” [Video]
  • Hon. Unity Dow, International Human Rights Advocate, Novelist, and Former Judge, Botswana High Court (Botswana)
    2012, “Juggling Truths: When Justice is a Moving Target” [Video]

Advisory Council

The Justice for Women Lecture Series Advisory Council, which includes leaders from the U.S. and abroad, assists in identifying and welcoming distinguished lecturers annually.