Faculty Research Blog

Professor Peter Pitegoff

Evolution of Community Economic Development

By Professor Peter Pitegoff

The evolution of community economic development over the past several decades has witnessed dramatic growth in scale and complexity. Indeed, new approaches to local development and related lawyering…

Professor Deirdre Smith

Parental Rights Matters in Maine Probate Courts: The Urgent Need for Reform

By Professor Deirdre Smith

Although Maine’s sixteen county-based probate courts are primarily associated with the administration of decedents’ estates, they have an important role with respect to children’s interests as well. Since their establishment in 1821…


Student Spotlight

Alumni Spotlight


TedXDirigo videos of Professor Sarah Schindler and Chris Poulos ’16. View More

Upcoming Events

May 14, 2016
  • Commencement for the Class of 2016
    May 14, 2016: 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

    More Information

May 30, 2016
Jun 1, 2016
  • The 14th Amendment in American Life and Imagination

    Join the Maine Humanities Council and the University of…

    Jun 1, 2016: 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm

    More Information

Maine Law in the News

Senator Susan CollinsU.S. Sen. Susan Collins to speak at Maine Law commencement

Susan Collins, the senior United States Senator from Maine, will be the keynote speaker at this year’s commencement for the University of Maine School of Law on May 14. First elected in 1996, Sen. Collins has earned a national reputation for working across party lines to seek consensus on our nation’s most important issues.


Student Impact SummitMaine Law hosts inaugural Student Impact Summit

The University of Maine School of Law recently hosted the inaugural Student Impact Summit to celebrate the many intellectual pursuits of Maine Law students. The summit included poster presentations, a panel discussion, and a reception.

Quotes in the Media