Hilary Rapkin ’93 to receive 2018 L. Kinvin Wroth Award from Maine Law

Hilary Rapkin '93Hilary Rapkin ‘93, Chief Legal Officer at WEX, Inc., will receive the 2018 L. Kinvin Wroth Award during the University of Maine School of Law’s commencement ceremony on May 26.

The award, named after former Dean L. Kinvin Wroth, honors a Maine Law graduate who has achieved distinction in his or her career by contributing as a leader – locally, nationally or globally – and who has helped advance his or her alma mater.

Hilary Rapkin has worked at WEX, Inc. for more than two decades. She is currently responsible for overseeing WEX’s global legal, regulatory compliance, government affairs, and corporate philanthropy functions. She manages local counsel in Europe, Asia-Pacific, and South America, in addition to the in-house counsel at the company’s Maine headquarters. During her time at WEX, she was named the company’s first general counsel; she helped create WEX Bank; and she led their legal team in launching the company’s initial public offering.

Rapkin is a member of the Association of Corporate Counsel, the National Association of Corporate Directors, the Society of Corporate Secretaries and Governance Professionals, and the Society for Human Resource Management. She began her career at Bennett & Associates and received her undergraduate degree from Bowdoin College.

“Hilary is an invaluable asset to the Law School,” said Danielle Conway, Dean of the University of Maine School of Law. She has served on the University of Maine School of Law Board of Visitors since 2015, mentored Maine Law students, and recently lent her support for the Law School’s new Compliance Certificate Program by bringing WEX on board as an inaugural sponsor of the workforce development initiative. More than that, Hilary has been a mentor and a friend to me from the moment I stepped foot in Maine,” continued Conway. “She is a great example of a leader who makes all of those around her experience success and fulfillment in the work they do; that is why she is so deserving of this award.”

The L. Kinvin Wroth Award is presented annually at the Maine Law commencement ceremony, which is scheduled to be held this year at 10 am on Saturday, May 26, at Merrill Auditorium in Portland. The Law School will award seventy-five J.D. degrees, one LL.M. degree, and one J.S.D. degree. Family and friends are welcome to attend the ceremony, and tickets are not required.