Public interest fellowships announced for more than 20 Maine Law students

March 28, 2014

PORTLAND, Maine – Several students at the University of Maine School of Law will work as fellows this summer in an array of public interest jobs.

The fellowships are supported financially by the annual spring auction of the Maine Association for Public Interest Law (MAPIL), Law School funds and donations to Maine Law from alumni and friends. Dean Peter Pitegoff recently sent an email to the Maine Law community, announcing this year’s recipients of fellowships.

“This impressive list of placements and awards reflects the valuable contribution our students provide to the bench, bar, and community,” Pitegoff said. 

Here is the list of summer 2014 fellows, as well as other fellowship awards:

MAPIL Fellowships
Amber Attalla – Immigrant Legal Advocacy Project, Portland, ME
Jacob Bowie – Disability Rights Center, Augusta, ME
Pardis Delijani – Sugar Law Center, Detroit, MI
Scott Helmke – Pine Tree Legal Assistance, Bangor, ME
Stephen Koerting – Volunteer Lawyers Project, Portland, ME
Lauren Kousaie – Volunteer Lawyers Project, Portland, ME
Dylan Maeby – Pine Tree Legal Assistance, Portland, ME
Rory McNamara – New Hampshire Public Defenders, Concord, NH
Jane O'Reilly – Judge Unity Dow, Botswana (Justice for Women Fellowship)
Micah Smart – Volunteer Lawyers Project, Portland, ME
Robert Smith – Straight Ahead Ministries, Lynn, MA

Bernstein District Court Fellowships
Emily Atkins: Judge Powers - Portland District Court 
Jamie Bryant: Judge LaVerdiere - Augusta District Court
Sarah Glidden: Judge Beliveau, Judge Lawrence - Lewiston District Court 
Elizabeth Tull: Judge Douglas - Biddeford District Court 

Horace J. Libby/PUC Fellowship
Simon Beirne: Maine Public Utilities Commission

Legislative Fellowship
Ellen Parent: Maine Senate Minority Office
Bradley Sica: Maine Senator Minority Office

Association of Corporate Counsel Ethics Award
Elizabeth Valentine

Cushman Anthony Clinic Fellowship
Taylor Sampson

Lynda Smith Dyer Fellowship
Isabel Mullin:  Maine Women's Policy Center

Shur-Frinsko Award
Stephen Wagner


Media contact: Trevor Maxwell, communications director at Maine Law
Office: 207-228-8037/ Cell: 207-286-4431/ email: