Complete list of awards for Maine Law class of 2013

May 22, 2013

PORTLAND, Maine – More than two dozen academic achievement and leadership awards were presented to graduates at the commencement of the University of Maine School of Law, held Saturday, May 18 at Merrill Auditorium.

The awards were presented by Prof. Rita Heimes, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs.

Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Awards - Awarded for outstanding academic performance in selected areas of the curriculum:

Business & Commercial Law

Nicholas Patrick Boston, North Berwick, ME

Criminal Law & Procedure

Margaret Ellen Machaiek, Owl's Head, ME

Environmental & Marine Law

Brian Douglas Lessels, Contoocook, NH

International Law

Nicole Lindsey Gray, Portland, ME


Paul D. Weinstein, Old Orchard Beach, ME

ABA/BNA Award for Excellence in the Study of Intellectual Property Law

Joshua Gigax McCoy, Wooster, OH

American Bankruptcy Institute Medal - For excellence in bankruptcy studies.

Tristan Birkenmeier, Bar Harbor, ME

Wernick Prize for Legal Writing - Awarded for the best legal scholarship submitted by a student.

Benjamin McDowell Birney, North Yarmouth, ME

Upper Level Writing Project Award - Awarded for the best Upper Level Writing Project done by a member of the third-year class, judged by a committee of Faculty members appointed by the dean.

Courtney Renee Goodwin, Turner, ME

Faculty Award for Trial Advocacy - Awarded for outstanding performance in advocacy courses.

Elizabeth Slattery, Gilead, ME

The Clinical Legal Education Award - Awarded to a student nominated by the clinical faculty for excellence in clinical fieldwork based on ethical and high-quality representation provided to clients and the community, and for exemplary thoughtfulness in exploring lawyering issues and skills in an accompanying seminar.

Brandon Scott Rubenstein, Rockville Centre, NY

Gignoux Award for Appellate Advocacy - This award is for the graduating student who has demonstrated excellence in appellate advocacy skills through moot court, clinical practice, or other curricular or extracurricular programs.

Benjamin Newton Donahue, West Townshend, VT

Peter William Lacy, North Yarmouth, ME

Faculty Award for Community Service – This award goes to a student who has done significant work in bringing together the law school community and the community at large.

Danielle Anne Bautista Cardona, Buxton, ME

Diana Christina DeJesus, Wellington, FL

Maine State Bar Association Pro Bono Student Award - Awarded to a student whose law-related service to the community, without compensation or education credit, exemplifies the legal profession's tradition of pro bono service. The recipient is to be selected by the Dean and Faculty after consultation with the President of the Maine State Bar Association.

Taylor Sawyer Kilgore, Auburn, ME

Jenny Nguyen, Sacramento, CA

National Association of Women Lawyers Recognition Award - Awarded to a graduate who has contributed to the advancement of women in society and promoted issues and concerns of women in the legal profession.

Nicole R. Bissonnette, Lewiston, ME

Edward S. Godfrey Leadership Award – This award goes to the student who has made the most significant contribution to a student-edited law journal during his or her years at the law school.

Agnieszka A. Pinette, Brunswick, ME

Faculty Significant Achievement Awards - These awards are presented to members of the graduating class whose academic performance and overall contribution to the school have been significant.

Daniel Paul D'Alessandro, Standish, ME

Taylor Sawyer Kilgore, Auburn, ME

Allison M. Ouellet, Addison, ME

Kasia S. Park, South Portland, ME

Faculty Scholastic Achievement Award - This award is given to that member of the graduating class who achieves, over three years of law study, the highest academic average.

Benjamin McDowell Birney, North Yarmouth, ME

ALI CLE Scholarship and Leadership Award - Awarded to the law student in the graduating class who best represents a combination of scholarship and leadership.

Benjamin McDowell Birney, North Yarmouth, ME

Law Alumni Association Award - The recipient of this award is that person who, in the determination of the faculty, is an outstanding member of the senior class.

Agnieszka A. Pinette, Brunswick, ME

SBA Distinguished Service Award - The recipient of this award is that person who, in the determination of the 3L class, is an outstanding member of the graduating class.

Diana Christina DeJesus


Media contact: Trevor Maxwell, communications director at Maine Law
Office: 207-228-8037/ Cell: 207-286-4431/ email:

Lorem Ipsum Dolor Sit Amet

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Duis ligula lorem, consequat eget, tristique nec, auctor quis, purus. Vivamus ut sem. Fusce aliquam nunc vitae purus. Aenean viverra malesuada libero. Fusce ac quam. Donec neque. Nunc venenatis enim nec quam. Cras faucibus, justo vel accumsan aliquam, tellus dui fringilla quam, in condimentum augue lorem non tellus. Pellentesque id arcu non sem placerat iaculis. Curabitur posuere, pede vitae lacinia accumsan, enim nibh elementum orci, ut volutpat eros sapien nec sapien.

Suspendisse Neque Arcu

Ultrices commodo, pellentesque sit amet, ultricies ut, ipsum. Mauris et eros eget erat dapibus mollis. Mauris laoreet posuere odio. Nam ipsum ligula, ullamcorper eu, fringilla at, lacinia ut, augue. Nullam nunc.