Maine Law Review holds annual Symposium

The Maine Law Review‘s 2014 Annual Symposium, “Connecting Law and Legislature: The Legacy of Ed Muskie,” took place on Saturday, November 15, 2014 in Portland, Maine. It was part of a day-long “Centennial Celebration” of Edmund S. Muskie on the 100th anniversary of his birth. The series of events was co-sponsored by the Muskie School of Public Service at the University of Southern Maine, the University of Maine School of Law, Southern Maine Community College, and the Muskie Archives at Bates College.

The Maine Law Review Symposium brought together former colleagues of Ed Muskie with contemporary scholars and leaders of the bench and bar. They discussed the enormous impact of Muskie’s public service and its continued relevance today. The symposium consisted of three panel discussions throughout the morning:

  1. An Environmental Law Panel, with Professor Richard Lazarus, Harvard Law School; Leon Billings, former Muskie Chief of Staff; and Professor Joel Goldstein (moderator), St. Louis University School of Law.
  2. A Model Cities and Urban Development Panel, with Professor Kellen Zale, University of Houston Law Center; Don Nicoll, former Muskie Executive Assistant; and Dean Peter Pitegoff (moderator), University of Maine School of Law.
  3. An Access to Justice Panel, with Justice Howard Dana, Maine Supreme Court (retired); Justice Andrew Mead, Maine Supreme Court; and Bob Hirshon (moderator), former President of the American Bar Association.

The Maine Law Review will publish articles and essays arising from the Symposium discussions.

Keynote speakers in the afternoon session were former Secretary of State Madeline Albright and PBS political analyst Mark Shields, both of whom worked closely with Senator Muskie years ago.

Muskie’s public service was wide-ranging. He served in the Maine legislature from 1946 to 1954, as Governor of Maine from 1955 to 1959, as a member of the U.S. Senate from 1959 to 1980, and as U.S. Secretary of State in the Carter Administration from 1980 to 1981.